微型陶瓷處理

感謝來自MCDC的資金,Synchron雷射得以擴展
一月 20, 2016
Show all

微型陶瓷處理

微型陶瓷處理

使用光纖雷射機的陶瓷基板的微處理
傳統上是使用CO2雷射技術處理陶瓷,不過在三年前,Synchron雷射成功地利用近紅外光纖雷射機的高亮度的專利製程 - 今天,其結果不言自明。

Brett Moon, Richard Budd, Andy Appleyard

氮化鋁和氧化鋁陶瓷的劃線和顯微加工在過去30年一直被CO2雷射機所壟斷。簡單的原因是在10.6微米波長一直是最適合用於處理這些類型的材料。然而,用於電子應用的陶瓷基板的形體尺寸和表面質量在過去20年中變化不大。

然而,時代正在快速變化,LED和汽車行業在整合到他們的組裝陶瓷子組件中,嚴格的要求小型化,更高的精確度和更大的靈活性。

美國密西根州普利茅斯的Synchron雷射開始使用一個可以在處理更精細的細節時有更高一致性,以及在已完成的基板有更好的表面處理的製程。在轉換到光纖雷射機的這個過程,還顧及到降低製造成本,提供出色的可靠性,以及提供了在製程中具有更大的靈活性的需求。

雷射機陶瓷劃線

在一般情況下,採用雷射技術對電子工業發展的快節奏有利,從而提供對於消費和工業電子新技術快速變化的需求可靈活且具成本效益的製程。這些製程屬於非接觸性的,因而產生的廢物較物理處理技術的要來得少。

Figure 1: A typical low density electronics substrate showing vias, alignment cuts and holes as well as the scribes used to separate the individual pieces.

圖1: 典型的低密度電子基板顯示的通孔,對準切口和孔洞,以及用於分隔各個部份的劃線。

雷射技術已經在電子工業被廣泛用於處理氧化鋁(Al2O3)和氮化鋁(AlN)的陶瓷基板有30年的時間,用於將陶瓷基板分離為單獨的組分,使用雷射來刻劃(鑽頭)的一系列局部部分(盲孔),即為高耐受性的孔(圖1)。由於一般陶瓷的光吸收特性,CO2雷射技術已經被證實是足以處理的,這裡的脈衝能量陶瓷的表面上吸收一個夠短的接觸長度,從而產生局部加熱,熔化和氣化。由此產生的孔穿透基板大約為三分之一的深度,並建立一個後續用以折斷的優先斷層線。使用其他技術、通孔、凹槽、定位特徵和精巧的圖樣,也可以加工到基板上。

然而,CO 2雷射技術不是沒有缺點。所述相對寬的聚焦點周邊部份熔融所引起的熱影響區(HAZ),是解析度和可重複性相對較低的的一個主要原因。其10.6μm的波長和相對較長的脈衝持續時間都促成此一問題,而CO2的可靠性,足跡和保養問題,相對於其他的雷射技術取得的進步已經稍微落後,前述的問題指出這個雷射平台的技術–特別是對於大多數顯微型處理應用而言–已經過時了。

劃線的新方法

Synchron在1980年左右涉入雷射材料加工行業,開始時是對世界各地的客戶提供雷射服務的公司,Synchron很快擴大到建構CO2完整解決方案系統以及提供雷射加工工作間的服務。現在Synchron在美國,加拿大以及中歐和東歐,部分地區市場以及台灣、韓國和日本在遠東地區,已經是CO2雷射機和統合的完整解決方案系統,熱處理和材料加工應用–主要為陶瓷的顯微加工–的知名原設備製造廠商了。

SYNCHRON理解到在當前電子產業在公差和特徵尺寸上日益嚴格的要求下,CO2雷射技術的侷限性。Nd:YAG雷射機的初始測試證明了對於這種應用,1微米下的吸收力太弱了。更具體的來說,因為在高功率時光束的品質以及點的一致性不良,沉積在表面層中的能量不足以產生預期的效果。高功率光纖雷射機及其穩定和高品質的光束的發展改變了這一切。

Synchron因而後續開發一種表面處理,以提高這些更短波長的雷射在陶瓷上的吸收。處理稍微滲透到表面,並增強了近紅外雷射脈衝在夠短的距離上能量的沉積,以產生必要的熔化和汽化。為了優化他們的製程,Synchron採用了英國SPI的高亮度光纖雷射機。Synchron多年來一直在開發工業市場用的光纖雷射機,主要用於例如微焊接和微切削等材料加工應用,也用於標記應用。

Figure 2: Comparison of the scribe pits generated by CO2 and fiber lasers, highlighting the HAZ and geometry differential between the two processes.

圖2: 由CO2 雷射機和光纖雷射機產生的劃線凹陷的比較,突出兩個製程之間的熱影響區和幾何差。

Synchron的表面處理實質上增強了光纖雷射束在陶瓷頂部表面的耦合入以起始鑽孔過程。雷射脈衝和材料表面之間的相互作用,與客製的,高解晰度的束傳遞系統連接在一起所增強的動力,意味著現在可以在陶瓷基片上作出更小的特徵。(圖2)

三年

經過三年多的發展,結果不言自明。現在效能好的>低端<陶瓷加工新系統,已經能輕鬆匹敵最先進的CO2技術的產量。

然而,更大的利益是Synchron光纖雷射機製程所生產的更高精度和更精細的形體尺寸,提供了CO2製程不可能做到的幾何功能。電路設計人員現在可以顯著提高電路密度,同時保持相同或更好的生產速度。

Synchron的雷射-材料相互作用的性能精度和可重複性,目前被其使用的運動系統所限制。高性能線性馬達對半徑小於50微米的特徵保持位置公差為1微米或更小,而動態幾何公差為3微米,較大的特徵則為1〜2微米(圖3&4)。

Figure 3: Kerf edge on a form cut from a ceramic wafer.

圖3: 陶瓷片切割的刻口邊緣。

Figure 4: The top side of a typical 75µm diameter via. HAZ extends 11µm out from the edge of hole and they are round to within 2.5µm. It should be noted that these vias are machined (trepanned) features, not single shots.

圖4: 一個典型的75µm 通孔直徑的頂側。HAZ的延伸為孔洞邊緣11µm ,而它們被四捨五入為 2.5µm。應當指出的是,這些通孔是以環鑽術加工,而非單發鑽孔。

透過光纖雷射機改進製程

正如上文所指出,光纖雷射機提供了一系列獨特的效能優點,不僅可用在這裡討論的應用,而是可應用於範圍廣泛的其他材料加工。

高品質的光束剖面可在任何脈衝參數範圍內的所有的輸出功率上使用,從而允許很大的工作距離(遠離狀態)。高光束的品質,在焦點與高端光學系統耦合後轉化為高輻照(亮度),從而實現高精度加工和最小的熱影響區,以及使用傳統上認為不適合用於近紅外線雷射的技術的製程。

基於這些和其他原因,光纖雷射機為眾多的工業應用帶來顯著的優點。光纖雷射機已經顯示可透過降低維修費用,沒有對準或校準要求,更長的運行時間,並在更高產量下改善生產品質,來降低運營成本。他們也很小巧和堅固,且因此適合用於最具挑戰性的工業環境。

陶瓷市場優勢

在一個已成為生產消費電子產品的重要組成部分,卻與其他材料加工行業之先進技術無法匹敵的行業上,Synchron的專利技術無疑是新的突破。然而,產業的標準正在迅速提高 – 當前製造公差大約是10微米,但現在公差的要求日益嚴格,特別是高亮度LED單元和陣列的製造商。

 

據Synchron的高級工程師Richard Budd表示:「光纖雷射機和專利的表面變更製程的結合使特徵尺寸減小,為在電子等級的陶瓷上做更精細細節的大量生產–通常每月超過1000萬件–用在像是大眾消費類電子產品如手機,音樂播放器,背光用高強度LED和汽車應用的需求。」

Synchron現在生產雙束和四束光纖雷射陶瓷加工系統,其中大部分的系統是用在環太平洋地區。目前的系統被供應非常大量的消費電子電路的客戶,安裝在全天候運行的批量生產環境上,到目前已經超過18個月,並可兼容每月每系統生產幾百萬單位的速度。

Synchron的表面處理可噴塗、浸漬,或軋製且不需要任何顯著乾燥時間。陶瓷表面處理的應用的過程不一定增加額外的步驟,因為某種塗層步驟(通常是抗濺射層)是CO2驅動既定的共同製程。

總結:

CO2雷射機以前主宰了電子產業者的陶瓷基板生產,但是Synchron的新製程提供了現有技術根本無法達到的量產速度和功能精確度。Synchron正在申請專利的製程似乎將會撼動一個過去20年在成品組件幾乎沒有真正發展的市場 – 從這個角度來說,我們可能正在見證歷史事件的發生。

Figure 5: Flat cut into corner of substrate – the curves are to eliminate potential chipping at sharp corners when substrates are automatically loaded

圖 5: 在基板的角落平切 – 曲線用以消除基材自動加載時在尖角的潛在碎屑。

作者

Brett Moon的背景包括近二十年的Synchron雷射的實雷射經驗。他還擁有一個德文學士學位和國際商碩士學位務。2000年,布雷特繼他的父親作為美國密西根普利茅斯Synchron雷射公司的總裁

Richard Budd在電子設計和物理科學具有終身背景,美國密西根普利茅斯Synchron雷射公司的高級工程師。在美國空軍短暫擔任微波通信設備的技術人員後,他於1978加入Photon Source成為現場工程師,然後1980年與Brett Moon的父親創辦Synchron雷射服務公司

Andy Appleyard是英國南安普敦SPI雷射CW /模組光纖雷射機的雷射機產品線經理。

聯絡我們
Synchron Laser, Inc.
Plymouth, Michigan, USA
電話: +1 248 486 0402
傳真: +1 xxx xxx xxxx
www.synchronlaser.com

SPI Lasers UK Ltd.,
Southampton, UK
電話: +44 (0)1489 779694
傳真: +44 (0)xxxx xxxxxx
www.spilasers.com

Ceramic Processing Goes Micro

Processing Ceramic Substrates
September 29, 2015
Show all

Ceramic Processing Goes Micro

Ceramic processing goes micro

Microprocessing of ceramic substrates using fiber lasers
Traditionally, ceramics have been processed with CO2 laser technology, but just over three years ago, Synchron Laser successfully utilized the high brightness of near infrared fiber lasers in a proprietary process –today, the results speak for themselves.

Brett Moon, Richard Budd, Andy Appleyard

Scribing and micromachining of AlN and Al2O3 ceramics has been dominated by the use of CO2 lasers for 30 years, the simple reason being that the 10.6µm wavelength has been the one best suited to processing these types of materials. Nevertheless, feature size and finish quality of the ceramic substrates used for electronics applications had changed little in the last 20 years.

However, times are now rapidly changing, with LED and automotive sectors demanding miniaturization, higher accuracy and greater flexibility in the ceramic sub-componentry integrated into their assemblies, all at no expense in terms of throughput and production efficiency.

Synchron Laser of Plymouth, Michigan, USA started using fiber lasers in a process that exhibits both improved consistency during processing with finer detail and better finish on the completed substrate. The adoption of fiber lasers into this process also addresses the need to reduce manufacturing costs, offers exceptional reliability and provides for greater flexibility in the process.

Scribing ceramics with lasers

In general, the use of laser technology benefits the fast pace of development in the electronics industry, providing for flexible and cost effective processes that can cater to the rapidly changing demand for new technology for consumer and industrial electronics. These processes are also non-contact and therefore produce less wastage than physical processing techniques.

Figure 1: A typical low density electronics substrate showing vias, alignment cuts and holes as well as the scribes used to separate the individual pieces.

Figure 1: A typical low density electronics substrate showing vias, alignment cuts and holes as well as the scribes used to separate the individual pieces.

Laser technology has been widely used for processing alumina (Al2O3) and aluminium nitride (AlN) ceramic substrates for the electronics industry for 30 years. For separation of the ceramic substrates into individual components, the laser is used to scribe (drill) a series of partial (i.e. blind), high tolerance holes (Figure 1). Due to the optical absorption properties of the most common ceramics, the laser of choice has previously been the CO2 laser. In this process, the optical pulse energy is absorbed over a short interaction length at the surface of the ceramic, resulting in local heating, melting and vaporisation. The holes thus generated penetrate roughly one third of the way through the substrate and will generate a preferential fault line on subsequent fracture. Using an appropriate adaption of this process, vias, slots, locating features and delicate patterns can also be machined into the substrate.

CO2 laser technology is however not without it’s drawbacks. The accompanying heat affected zone (HAZ), in this case caused by partial melting under the peripherie of the focussed spot, is a principal cause of the relatively low resolution and repeatability achievable. The 10.6µm wavelength and the relatively long pulse duration are both contributory to this issue, while CO2 reliability, footprint and maintenance issues, trailing somewhat behind the advances made in other laser technologies, tend to identify this laser platform as technologically out of date, certainly for most microprocessing applications.

A new technique for scribing

Synchron got involved in the laser materials processing industry around 1980. Starting as a laser service organisation with customers around the world, Synchron soon expanded into building turnkey CO2 systems and providing laser jobshop services. Synchron is now an established supplier of OEM CO2 lasers and integrated turnkey systems for heat treating and materials processing applications – primarily for micromachining ceramics – with markets in the USA, Canada and parts of Central and Eastern Europe, as well as Taiwan, Korea and Japan in the Far East.

Synchron realized the limitations of CO2 laser technology in the face of increasingly severe demands from the electronics industry with regards to tolerances and feature size. Initial tests with Nd:YAG lasers for this application only proved that the absorption at 1µm is simply too weak. More specifically, because of the inefficient coupling along with poor beam quality and spot consistency at high powers, not enough energy is deposited in the surface layer with the requisite definition to generate the desired effect. The development of high power fiber lasers with their inherently stable and high quality beam changed all that.

Synchron also went on to develop a surface treatment to enhance the absorption of laser light at these shorter wavelengths on ceramics. The treatment permeates slightly into the surface of the ceramic and enhances the deposition of energy for near infrared laser pulses over a sufficiently short distance to produce the necessary melting and vaporization. To optimize their process, Synchron uses high brightness fiber lasers from SPI Lasers, UK. SPI has been developing fiber lasers for the industrial market for several years, primarily for materials processing applications such as microwelding and microcutting, but also for marking applications.

Figure 2: Comparison of the scribe pits generated by CO2 and fiber lasers, highlighting the HAZ and geometry differential between the two processes.

Figure 2: Comparison of the scribe pits generated by CO2 and fiber lasers, highlighting the HAZ and geometry differential between the two processes.

Synchron’s surface treatment essentially enhances the coupling of the fiber laser beam into the top surface of the ceramic to start the drilling process. The enhanced dynamics of the interaction between the laser pulse and the material surface, coupled together with a custom, high resolution beam delivery system, mean that significantly smaller features can now be realized in ceramic substrates (Figure 2).

Three years on

After more than three years of total development, the results speak for themselves. For the case of what may be now be considered low-end positional and tolerance geometries, the fiber laser systems easily match the throughput of current state-of-the-art CO2.

However, of greater interest is the higher accuracy and finer spot size produced by Synchron’s fiber laser process that provides for geometry capabilities that are simply not possible with CO2 lasers. This development allows circuit designers to dramatically increase circuit densities while holding the same or better production speeds.

Such is the performance of the laser-material interaction that accuracy and repeatability of the process is now strictly limited by the motion system used. High performance linear motor stages hold positional tolerances in the Synchron systems to 1µm or less and dynamic geometry tolerances to around 3µm or less for very small radii of less than 50µm and 1 to 2µm for larger features (Figures 3 & 4).

Figure 3: Kerf edge on a form cut from a ceramic wafer.

Figure 3: Kerf edge on a form cut from a ceramic wafer.

Figure 4: The top side of a typical 75µm diameter via. HAZ extends 11µm out from the edge of hole and they are round to within 2.5µm. It should be noted that these vias are machined (trepanned) features, not single shots.

Figure 4: The top side of a typical 75µm diameter via. HAZ extends 11µm out from the edge of hole and they are round to within 2.5µm. It should be noted that these vias are machined (trepanned) features, not single shots.

Process enhancement through fiber lasers

As already indicated above, fiber lasers provide a unique series of performance features that benefit not only the application discussed here, but a wide spectrum of other materials processing applications too.

Exceptionally high quality beam profile is available at all output powers right across the range of possible pulse parameters, thereby permitting large working distances (stand-off). The high beam quality, coupled together with a high-end optical system translate into high irradiance (brightness) at the focus, enabling high precision processing with minimal HAZ and driving processes traditionally thought unsuitable for near IR laser technology.

For these and other reasons, fiber lasers bring significant advantages for a host of industrial applications. Fiber lasers have been shown to minimize operational costs through a combination of reduced maintenance costs, no alignment or calibration requirements, longer up-times and improved production quality at higher throughputs. Footprint and robustness are further aspects that make the technology suitable for the most challenging of industrial environments.

Advantages for ceramics market

Synchron’s proprietary technique breaks new ground in an industry that, while being a vital part of the production of consumer electronic products, has not matched the technological advances made in other materials processing industries. However, the bar is quickly being raised in this industry – current manufacturing tolerances in the sector are approximately 10µm, but increasingly severe tolerance demands are being placed, in particular, by manufacturers of high brightness LED units and arrays.

Acording to Richard Budd, Senior Engineer at Synchron, “the stunning reduction in feature size that the combination of the fiber laser and our proprietary surface modification process provides finally opens the door for much finer details to be machined into electronics-grade ceramics at volumes – often exceeding 10 million pieces per month – that easily meet the production demands for mass-consumer electronics such as cell phones, music players and for high intensity LEDs for backlighting and automotive applications”.

Synchron now supplies to dual and quad-beam fiber laser processing systems for ceramics, with the bulk of the systems going to destinations in the Pacific Rim. Current systems are installed in a mass production environment for customers that supply circuitry for very high volume consumer electronics, with processing running 24/7 for over 18 months to-date and operating at speeds that are compatible with the production of several million units per month per-system.

Synchron’s surface treatment can be sprayed, dipped or even rolled, and does not require any significant drying time. The application of a surface treatment to the ceramic does not necessarily add an additional step to the process, as some sort of coating step (usually an anti-spattering layer) is common to the established CO2-driven process.

Summary:

CO2 lasers previously dominated mass production of ceramic substrates for the electronics industry, but Synchron’s new process delivers feature accuracy at throughput speeds that are simply unattainable with the incumbant technology. Synchron’s patent pending process thus looks set to shake up a market which has seen little real development in the finished component for more than 20 years – in this respect, we might be witnessing history in the making.

Figure 5: Flat cut into corner of substrate – the curves are to eliminate potential chipping at sharp corners when substrates are automatically loaded

Figure 5: Flat cut into corner of substrate – the curves are to eliminate potential chipping at sharp corners when substrates are automatically loaded

Authors

Brett Moon’s background includes almost two decades of practical laser experience at Synchron Laser. He also holds a Bachelor’s Degree in German and a Master’s Degree in International Business. In 2000 Brett succeeded his father as President of Synchron Laser, Inc. in Plymouth, MI, USA.

Richard Budd has a lifelong background in electronics design and the physical sciences and is Senior Engineer at Synchron Laser in Plymouth, MI, USA. After a stint in the USAF as a microwave communications equipment technician he started at Photon Sources in 1978 as a field engineer before founding Synchron Laser Service in 1980 along with Brett Moon’s father.

Andy Appleyard is Product Line Manager for cw/modulated fiber lasers at SPI Lasers in Southampton, UK.

Contact
Synchron Laser, Inc.
Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Tel.: +1 248 486 0402
Fax: +1 xxx xxx xxxx
www.synchronlaser.com

SPI Lasers UK Ltd.,
Southampton, UK
Tel. +44 (0)1489 779694
Fax: +44 (0)xxxx xxxxxx
www.spilasers.com