光纖雷射機:陶瓷晶圓劃線

陶瓷基片加工
一月 20, 2016
Show all

光纖雷射機:陶瓷晶圓劃線

光纖雷射機:陶瓷晶圓劃線

使用光纖雷射機的陶瓷基板的處理
傳統上,陶瓷晶片是以CO2雷射技術處理,但有一家公司已成功地將光纖雷射機使用在高亮度的專利製程上。三年來,其結果不言自明。

Brett Moon, Richard Budd, Andy Appleyard

檢視 PDF檔, 檢視德文PDF檔

Figure 1: Comparison of the scribe pits generated by CO2 and fiber lasers.

圖1: 由 CO2雷射機和光纖雷射機產生的劃線凹陷比較。

氮化鋁和氧化鋁陶瓷的劃線和顯微加工在過去30年一直被CO2雷射機所壟斷。簡單的原因是在10.6微米波長一直是最適合用於處理這些類型的材料。然而,用於電子應用的陶瓷基板的形體尺寸和表面質量在過去20年中變化不大。

時代正在快速變化,LED和汽車行業在整合到他們的組裝陶瓷子組件中,嚴格的要求小型化,更高的精確度和更大的靈活性。

陶瓷雷射劃線

若要將陶瓷基板分離為單獨的組件,我們是使用雷射來劃(鑽)出一系列局部部分(盲孔),即高耐受性的盲孔(圖1)。由於一般陶瓷的吸收特性,CO2雷射技術已經被證實是足以處理的,這裡的脈衝能量陶瓷的表面上吸收一個夠短的接觸長度,從而產生局部加熱、熔化和氣化。由此產生的孔穿透基板大約為三分之一的深度,並建立一個後續用以折斷的優先斷層線。使用其他技術,通孔,凹槽,定位特徵和精巧的圖樣,也可以加工到基板上。

然而,CO 2雷射技術不是沒有缺點。相對寬的聚焦點周邊部份熔融所引起的熱影響區(HAZ),是解析度和可重複性相對較低的的一個主要原因。

 

劃線的新方法

Synchron很快意識到,在從電子工業日益嚴格的要求下,CO2雷射技術所存在的侷限性。Nd:YAG雷射機的初始測試證明了對於這種應用,1微米下的吸收力太弱了 – 沉積在表面層的能量不足以產生預期的效果。

Synchron因而後續開發一種表面處理,以提高這些更短波長的雷射在陶瓷上的吸收。處理稍微滲透到表面,並增強了近紅外雷射脈衝在夠短的距離上能量的沉積,以產生必要的熔化和汽化。為了優化他們的製程,Synchron採用了英國SPI公司的高亮度光纖雷射機。SPI多年來一直在開發工業市場用的光纖雷射機,主要用於例如微焊接和微切削等材料加工應用,也用於標記應用。

Figure 2: Kerf edge on a form cut from a ceramic wafer.

圖 2: 陶瓷片切割的切痕邊緣。

Synchron的表面處理實質上增強了光纖雷射束在陶瓷頂部表面的耦合,以起始鑽孔過程。雷射脈衝和材料表面之間的相互作用,與客製且高解晰度的束傳遞系統連接在一起所增強的動力,意味著現在可以在陶瓷基片上作出更小的特徵。(圖2)

三年後

經過三年多的發展,結果不言自明。現在效能好的>低端<陶瓷加工新系統,已經能輕鬆匹敵最先進的CO2技術的產量。

然而,更大的利益是Synchron光纖雷射機製程所生產的更高精度和更精細的形體尺寸,提供了CO2製程不可能做到的幾何功能。電路設計人員現在可以顯著提高電路密度,同時保持相同或更好的生產速度。

產業的標準正在迅速提高 – 當前製造公差大約是10微米,但現在公差的要求日益嚴格,特別是高亮度LED單元和陣列的製造商。

Synchron的雷射-材料相互作用的性能精度和可重複性,目前被其使用的運動系統所限制。高性能線性馬達對半徑小於50微米的特徵保持位置公差為1微米或更小,而動態幾何公差為3微米,較大的特徵則為1〜2微米(圖3和4)。

 

Figure 3: A typical 75 μm diameter ›trepanned‹ via, round to within 2.5 μm and with 11 μm of HAZ

圖3: 典型的 75 μm 直徑›環鑽術‹ 通孔,
四捨五入到HAZ的 2.5 μm 和 11 μm 。Figure 4: Flat cut into corner of substrate – the curves reduce chipping when loading substrates圖 4: 平切成基板的角落 – 裝載基板時曲線減少崩刀。

光纖雷射機的優點

已被廣泛報導,光纖雷射機在廣泛的材料加工應用範圍上提供了一系列獨特的效能優點。高品質的光束剖面可在任何脈衝參數範圍內的所有的輸出功率上使用,從而允許很大的工作距離(遠離狀態)。高光束的品質,在焦點與高端光學系統耦合後轉化為高輻照(亮度),從而實現高精度加工和最小的熱影響區,以及使用傳統上認為不適合用於近紅外線雷射技術的製程。

服務於批量,大規模生產市場

在一個已成為生產消費電子產品的重要組成部分,卻與其他材料加工行業之先進技術無法匹敵的行業上,Synchron的專利技術無疑是新的突破。

Synchron現在生產雙束和四束光纖雷射加工系統,其中多數是用在台灣。目前的系統被供應非常大量的消費電子電路的客戶,安裝在全天候運行的批量生產環境上,到目前已經超過18個月,並可兼容每月每系統生產幾百萬單位的速度。

總結

CO2雷射機以前主導了電子行業中陶瓷基板的生產,但現在一個新的進程提供了現在技術根本無法達到的生產速度和功能精密度。Synchron的製程將會撼動一個過去20年在成品組件幾乎沒有真正發展的市場 – 這是史上的重要進展。

作者

Brett Moon有國際業務的背景在雷射界有近二十年的經驗。自2000年以來,他是美國密西根Synchron雷射的總裁

Richard Budd電子設計和物理科學背景,並且是Synchron高級工程師。

Andy Appleyard是英國南安普敦SPI公司的CW /模組光纖雷射機雷射機產品線經理。

Fiber Lasers: Scribing of Ceramic Wafers

Synchron Laser Expands Thanks to MCDC Funding
September 29, 2015
Show all

Fiber Lasers: Scribing of Ceramic Wafers

Fiber Lasers: Scribing of Ceramic Wafers

Processing of ceramic substrates using fiber lasers
Traditionally, ceramic wafers have been processed with CO2 laser technology, but one company has successfully employed the high brightness of fiber lasers in a proprietry process. Three years on, the results speak for themselves.

Brett Moon, Richard Budd, Andy Appleyard

View PDF, View PDF in German

Figure 1: Comparison of the scribe pits generated by CO2 and fiber lasers.

Figure 1: Comparison of the scribe pits generated by CO2 and fiber lasers.

Scribing and micromachining of AlN and Al2O3 ceramics has been dominated by the use of CO2 lasers for 30 years, the simple reason being that the 10.6 μm wavelength has been the best suited to processing these types of materials. Nevertheless, feature size and finish quality of the ceramic substrates used for electronics applications had changed little in the last 20 years.

The times are now rapidly changing, with LED and automotive sectors demanding miniaturization, higher accuracy and greater flexibility in the ceramic subcomponentry integrated into their assemblies.

Laser scribing of ceramics
For separation of the ceramic substrates into individual components, a laser is used to scribe (drill) a series of partial (blind), high tolerance holes (Figure 1). Due to the absorption properties of the most common ceramics, CO2 laser technology has proven adequate, where the pulse energy is absorbed over a sufficiently short interaction length at the surface of the ceramic, giving rise to local heating, melting and vaporisation. The holes thus generated penetrate roughly one third of the way through the substrate and create a preferential fault line for subsequent fracture. Using other techniques, vias, slots, locating features  and delicate patterns can also be machined into the substrate.

However, CO2 laser technology is not without its drawbacks. The accompanying heat affected zone (HAZ), caused by partial melting under the peripherie of the relatively broad focussed spot, is a principal cause of the relatively low resolution and repeatability acheivable.

A new technique for scribing
Synchron quickly realised the limitations of CO2 laser technology in the face of increasingly severe demands from the electronics industry. Initial tests with Nd:YAG lasers for this application only proved that the absorption at 1 μm is simply too weak – not enough energy is deposited in the surface layer to generate the desired effect.

Synchron thus subsequently developed a surface treatment to enhance the absorption of laser light at these shorter wavelengths on ceramics. The treatment permeates slightly into the surface and enhances the deposition of energy for near infrared laser pulses over a sufficiently short distance to produce the necessary melting and vaporisation. To optimize their process, Synchron uses high brightness fiber lasers from SPI Lasers UK. SPI has been developing fiber lasers for the industrial market for several years, primarily for materials processing applications such as microwelding and microcutting, but also for marking applications.

Figure 2: Kerf edge on a form cut from a ceramic wafer.

Figure 2: Kerf edge on a form cut from a ceramic wafer.

Synchron’s surface treatment essentially enhances the coupling of the fiber laser beam into the top surface of the ceramic to initiate the drilling process. The enhanced dynamics of the interaction between the laser pulse and the material surface, coupled together with a custom, high resolution beam delivery system, mean that significantly smaller features can now be realised in ceramic substrates (Figure 2).

Three years on
After over three years of development, the results speak for themselves. For what is now effectively ›low-end‹ ceramic processing, the new system easily matches the throughput of current state-of-the-art CO2 technology.

However, of greater interest is the higher accuracy and finer feature size produced by Synchron’s fiber laser process, providing for geometry capabilities that are simply not possible with the CO2 process. Circuit designers can now dramatically increase circuit densities while holding the same or better production speeds.

The bar is quickly being raised in the sector – current manufacturing tolerances are approximately 10 μm, but increasingly severe tolerance demands are being placed, in particular, by manufacturers of high brightness LED units and arrays.

Such is the performance of Synchron’s laser-material interaction that accuracy and repeatability is now strictly limited by
the motion system used. High performance linear motor stages hold positional tolerances to 1 μm or less and dynamic geometry tolerances to around 3 μm or less for very small radii of less than 50 μm and 1 to 2 μm for larger features (Figure 3 and 4).

Figure 3: A typical 75 μm diameter ›trepanned‹ via, round to within 2.5 μm and with 11 μm of HAZ

Figure 3: A typical 75 μm diameter ›trepanned‹ via,
round to within 2.5 μm and with 11 μm of HAZ

Figure 4: Flat cut into corner of substrate – the curves reduce chipping when loading substrates

Figure 4: Flat cut into corner of substrate – the curves
reduce chipping when loading substrates

Benefits of fiber lasers
As already widely published, fiber lasers provide a unique series of performance features that benefit a wide spectrum of
other materials processing applications. The exceptionally high quality beam profile is available at all output powers right across the range of possible pulse parameters, thereby permitting large working distances (stand-off). The high beam quality, coupled together with a high-end optical system translate into high irradiance (brightness) at the focus, enabling high precision processing with minimal HAZ and driving processes traditonally thought unsuitable for near-IR laser technology.

Serving the high volume, mass production market
Synchron’s proprietary technique breaks new ground in an industry that, while being a vital part of the production of consumer electronic products, has not matched the technological advances made in other materials processing industries.

Synchron now manufactures dual- and quad-beam fiber laser processing systems,  foremost for destinations in Taiwan. Current systems are installed in a mass production environment for customers that supply circuitry for very high volume consumer electronics, with processing having run ›24/7‹ for over 18 months to-date and operating at speeds that are compatible with the production of several million units per month per system.

Summary
CO2 lasers have previously dominated production of ceramic substrates for the electronics industry, but a new process delivers feature accuracy at throughput speeds that are simply unattainable with the incumbant technology. Synchron’s process thus looks set to shake up a market which has seen little real development in the finished component for more than 20 years – history in the making.

AUTHORS
Brett Moon has a background in International Business together with almost two decades of laser experience. Since 2000 he is CEO at Synchron Laser Service in Plymouth, MI, USA.

Richard Budd has a background in electronics design and the physical sciences, and is Senior Engineer at Synchron.

Andy Appleyard is Product Line Manager for cw/modulated fiber lasers at SPI Lasers in Southampton, UK.